Diamond in the Rough

I realize my Husband is not considered a catch. I totally understand why girls he crushed on didn’t love him back, and why he had only one serious relationship in his life before we met when he was 31.  They didn’t want him because he couldn’t support them financially, and he was reckless.  Maybe also because he doesn’t shower.  Hmm. Well,  I think it is mainly the no money thing. It is not just that he has no money, its also that he has a rebellious nature and is not interested in seeking out ways to make money. He is interested in money seeking out him. But it doesn’t. It is illogical, and totally infuriating. So it makes sense that I would be the only crazy person to put up with it. But I know something that all of these girls apparently didn’t. He is the most entertaining person I have ever met. He is hilarious non-stop.  He can turn the most mundane details into an hour long hilarious conversation topic. If you don’t have stomach cramps from laughing after 5 minutes of hearing him speak, then you aren’t paying attention.

I am never bored. We don’t have a working stereo system in our piece of shit car right now, but we don’t need one. I seriously enjoy listening to him still even after 71/2 years of marriage so much that I don’t want to tune him out.  I think that is so much more valuable than money. I’m not saying it is easy.  I often compare our relationship to Jackson Pollock and Lee Krasner, and if you are unfamiliar with that reference, he was basically a selfish nut job genius and she was as desperately in love with him as she was desperately frustrated. But every wife is frustrated about something.  And I would rather be annoyed and unfulfilled about material stuff that doesn’t matter much in the large scheme of things, rather than bored with the person I chose to spend the rest of my life with.

My point is, I think most girls just want to marry a paycheck. I would rather be homeless and laughing every day than rich and yearning for more laughter or for a new connection.  So I’m glad they passed him off as a reject, and a bad egg, because I saw in him what I know is what we all want the most in life.

Someone that I am attracted to who is unbelievably entertaining day in and day out.

7 thoughts on “Diamond in the Rough

  1. Lucky girl! I adore my husband still after 13 years of marriage BUT I still have those days where I want to rip his penis off and shove it down his throat to shut him up when he’s being an a-hole. ;). You and your husband are one lucky couple! I think my husband needs to take lesson from yours on being a decent guy, and I’m positive I have a lot to learn from you on being kinder and more appreciative of the man I’m head over heels in love with. 🙂 ❤ & Peace Tara!!! ~M

    • I want to rip his penis off and shove it down his throat a lot too, didn’t mean to be misleading here. I just meant that I feel really lucky that he is so funny and entertaining. i get bored easily, and the relationships i had before him were average, i “loved” and enjoyed them, but no body compares to my husband in terms of being hilarious. i felt like talking about it since so many people remind me of what an asshole nathan is for being poor and stingy. I would rather focus on the reasons we got together, and they had nothing at all to do with money (obviously). : )

  2. They break our hearts, push our patience to the limit, and make us crazy but creative genius is intoxicating and essential for some of us. He sounds like your muse. He inspires you. Your talent is SO much bigger than this, seriously. You’re a damn good writer. So he’s not the bread winner, but what you share could lead to some serious dough. But it’s not about the money, it about ditching the boredom and taking more chances. I’m talking TV or a movie. Something really awesome.

    • Aw, I love you, Michelle!! Thank you! He really does inspire me. Sometimes he inspires me to kill him…but most of the time it is creative inspiraton. ; )

      I like performing more than writing, I think because I am a social butterfly and too much isolation gets me down. I like to hear laughs, and see the pleased (or pissed off) expression on people’s faces after I say something on my mind. I am going to do Standup at the end of this month, and see if I like that. I think I will, but who knows. Wish me luck!!

      You are an AWESOME writer as well, my dear. Thank again for the sweet words, means more than you know.

    • PS Thanks for saying to take more chances. That is exactly what I don’t do enough of. I guess that is my New Year’s resolution.

  3. I’ve read your blog, but this is the first time I’ve left a comment. I just can’t help myself this time. 🙂

    You are so inspiring and eloquent with words. This reminds me of my hubs and I so much. We’ve been together for over 12 years now. It isn’t always easy, but it’s so worth it. We don’t have a lot materially, but we have two happy, healthy sons and a whole lotta love. Ok. And sometimes I want to behead him, but I haven’t. So, there’s that.

    Keep writing because, since we don’t have money to go out a lot, this is my entertainment, damn it! 😉

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

